Facts about filing a personal injury lawsuit in New York State

By on January 16, 2013
  • The New York State statute of limitations (SOL) for personal injury lawsuit is three years from the date of the calamity.
  • For wrongful death lawsuits, the Statute of Limitations is two years from the date of death and for medical malpractice cases, it is two years and six months.
  • All individuals who sustained an injury in New York should contact a New York personal injury lawyer to make sure your lawsuit is filed within the New York Statute of Limitations.
  • A Notice of Claim must be filed within 90 days and a personal injury lawsuit must be filed within one year and 90 days.
  • No-Fault insurance covers an assortment of costs for individuals injured in New York automobile accidents.  This concerns drivers of most cars and to pedestrians and bicyclists who come into contact with a car.
  • For wrongful death lawsuits, the Statute of Limitations is two years from the date of death and for medical malpractice lawsuits, it is two years and six months.